THE TEMASEK TIMES

News and views from an unique perspective

SBS Transit CEO Gan Juay Kiat apologizes: We ‘don’t know’ why the cables snapped

Posted by temasektimes on March 16, 2012

SBS Transit CEO Gan Juay Kiat has apologised to commuters over the North-East Line breakdown during a press conference on Thursday, but admits that SBS still doesn’t know the cause of the problem.

It is understood that the disruption was caused by the snapping of two power cables after which another flaw was discovered in the electrical insulation along the line causing train services to be halted for almost a day.

Speaking at the joint press conference with the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Ministry of Transport, Mr Gan said no one knows what caused the cables to snap and they were last inspected during a regular three-month maintenance programme on Feb 20. As part of investigations, the broken cables will be sent for a laboratory test.

Mr Gan also apologized to the public at the end of the press conference:

“On behalf of SBS Transit, we would like to apologise to all the commuters who have been greatly inconvenienced by the disruption that we faced this morning.” 

The disruption affected about  some 90,000 commuters as compared to 100,000 commuters when the NEL line last broke down in 2007.

Related articles:

Lui Tuck Yew praises SBS Transit for prompt response

MRT services between Dhoby Ghaut and HarbourFront breaks down

PHOTO: ‘Ponding’ in MRT train

SMRT train delayed along North-South line

8 Responses to “SBS Transit CEO Gan Juay Kiat apologizes: We ‘don’t know’ why the cables snapped”

  1. Ken Lee said

    my son was asking me, daddy are you a wizard? I say no! did we board on the wrong platform? I say no! then he ask me why are we on Hogwarts Express train? I say haa? he say only Hogwarts Express then got rain in side the train! I say haa? and the door is moving also! I say what? he say the people all stand at the door way worry the door might move away! I say err! that’s it I am no going to board the train when I am with him!

  2. xyz said

    Mr Gan also apologized profusely to the public at the end of the press conference:

    “On behalf of SBS Transit, we would like to apologise to all the commuters who have been greatly inconvenienced by the disruption that we faced this morning.”

    Profusely?

  3. Sean said

    ah, this is something new. from “accidents happen let’s move on” to “I DON’T KNOW”…. expect the PAP to say the same soon.

  4. GhostMan said

    Next better Player/CEO….lolz

  5. oute said

    “Sorry.” and still received the high salary.

    I am so sorry also, and can I received your salary.

  6. choochootrain said

    Let’s be fair, he was not the one to put the cable there. He was there at the wrong time, when everyone try to run away from the hot seat, because some screwballs predecessors screwed up, he has to pick the pieces.

  7. Dave said

    I don’t trust this guy. He even mentioned about sabotage! When he was CO of 21SA, he deliberately told me he has to find a scapegoat for his recall manning results. I will always remember the unkind injustice he did!

  8. subra said

    I have some feedback about ang mo kio rg group ,I been working more then 14 year,until now I don’t get any award why ,those got mc complaints ,they still get why not me ,did they see colour,you must give something to encouraging the bc then I will show my talent,not to kick me down ,how I going to show good performance if don’t get anything,if like. this ,just work and take monthly salary only dont need to show any think,I hope you must. take actions on this matter

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,098 other followers

